top of page

A Little Story of Writing 39A

My name is Yifei Pei or you may call me Allison too. I am a sophomore majoring in film and media studies. The last writing course that I took before Writing 39A was AC ENG 20C (Academic English). AC ENG 20C focuses on making arguments in a formal setting such as a research context. The two most important things I have learned in AC ENG 20C was writing a rhetorical analysis paper and research paper. Rhetorical analysis paper has improved my writing skill and understood a source deeply. Research paper makes me gain more information from different sources related to the topic that I choose and how to apply these sources into my writing. I do not think I am a writer but I do believe that I am a communicator. I love to spread information that I’m interested in to others and always being involved with strangers. It is hard for me to be patient. For example I do not like to wait for others when we have scheduled a time for a meeting. On the other hand I excel in time management. For example I like to make a schedule for homework that should be done in one week and I will divide them into everyday. It helps me to keep everything on track and won’t forget any assignment. When I am doing Language and Grammar Diagnostic at Connect I feel the part that is difficult for me is selecting the sentence that correctly uses punctuation. I didn’t take a writing course in the summer and last quarter so many of the skills and techniques are forgotten. After I saw my score I wasn't surprised that I got a 62/100 because I know I have many problems with grammar. This assignment clearly shows the part I need to work on the most. The syllabus has listed the information we need to know about Writing 39A. The first part has listed the instructor's contact information, office hours, requirements for this course, policies from Schools of Humanity, and plagiarism. The second part is about how to do well in this course. Dr. Haas has provided some advice to students that they can follow to get a better grade. The third part is the main assignments that will be given through this quarter. The course objectives for Writing 39A is to practice reading and thinking techniques. From reading you can learn how the author wrote their articles, how they composed words, and how they write to reach the purpose. To practice thinking, Dr. Haas has listed some elements that she wants students to use when they are brainstorming and reading. Lastly is the most important grade contract. Students need to participate and attend zoom meetings (3 Zoom meetings in this quarter), ask question or talk about your work with Dr.Haas at least once, complete works on time, meet the minimum requirements on assignments, give feedbacks to other students that are helpful, sustain effort and investment on very draft, and proofread your assignments, students will guaranteed an A or B (84%). Every week assignments that meet the grade contract will be given 10 points, if you lose points that means you didn’t meet the minimum requirement of the assignments. If you get extra points for example like 11 points that means you did well compared to other students, the instructor will consider more details, more research, more insight, etc. Also the course will offer extra points!


Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page